Help with an existing route price

edyrlund

Guys

I am new to this and have been looking to purchase an existing route. I work full time 3 days a week and am very mechanical so I thought this would be a good fit for a side business.

I am looking at a business that has been in business 34 years the owner is retiring. He has 100 locations, 175 machines in 3 counties and is asking $313,000 for all the machines and locations. The gross sales were $332,000 last year.

I am looking to just purchase the machines and locations closest to me. That would be 35 locations/75 machines. These gross $150,520 last year. The machines are National snack machines and Dixie Narco pop machines but none are set up for credit cards and most do not have the MBD on the control board. He also has 40 or so machines in a warehouse that could be included for more $. 

He is the kicker, he has no contracts. He has been doing it so long they have not had contracts. According to him all the locations have said they would give the new owner a chance provided they supply good service

I am thinking of purchasing the 35 locations and approx. 10 extra machines for parts/new locations and at around 115K

Does this sound like too big a route for 3 days a week and a reasonable offer

Thank you in advance for any help

You are better off buying 1 decent account to learn on, then moving forward on your own, By the time you upgrade the technology and learn the business, you will be retiring as well. 

With the information you provided, the total deal would be worth less than 50% of gross annual sales.  Your alternate deal of $150K in annual sales only averages $2K per machine. The sweet spot is $5K. None of this is adding up to a good start. Send this forum $100 and that's the most you'll lose. This month.

Also, $332K in sales to a newbie would either kill you or send you on a serious bender.