Finally got contacted by Coke about 3rd party have a couple questions

spdydre

Well after 2 months of trying to get ahold of Coke and going back and forth I finally got contacted by a rep about 3rd party vending down here.  According to the rep they have two choices either they fill the machines and pay me commission or I fill the machines and keep profits.  She stated that the minimum to start would be 25 machines and they would have to deliver them to a location or storage facility and the minimum order is 350 cases at a time lol.  Well I am just trying to expand a bit but I am not sure if this is a good idea.  I am fairly new to vending and very small. I wonder if jumping to that amount of volume  might be too much too soon.  I mean where am I going to stick 25 coke machines unless I have locations already lined up?  Has anyone done the commission route?

Wow that is a lot different than the 3rd party program I have with coke, all the bottlers have different programs but it sounds like yours really tries to weed the small guys. unless you have a good deal of machines lined up with locations, 20+ I would not even consider storing their machines for the. If you hit the streets really hard you should have no problem locating 20, just think of all the places that have a Pepsi machine that might want coke as well..

Is that 350 per order or per month? That works out to 14 per machine, that is a lot of soda to move. If that's a monthly quota then you will need to find some pretty good accounts to keep from piling up inventory, not a good idea.

My local bottler has also upped the requirements for third party vending agreement (my rep has said that they are simply not interested in "new" third party vendors but will continue to work with existing ones.), but not to that level. It seems that they have made the decision that "little guys" are not worth the hassle factor anymore.