Bitcoin ATM machines...advice?

VendingFanatic

That doesn't mean anyone is getting a return on their investment though so that would be a scam.  How would a transaction even work?  Do you withdraw virtual bitcoins to your phone?  Where, then, could you spend them?  If it's just a way to transfer fake money around you can do that online.

As many of you know, I'm in the ATM business.  In the last few weeks, I've been asked over a dozen times about Bitcoin.  Honestly, I just don't understand bitcoin or any cryptocurrency.  My biggest hang up is where it comes from.  The answer I always get is "it's computers that mine for it like gold, the computers solve complicated math problems." , the amount of stupid questions I have after that are too vast to even begin asking.

Anyways, I did a little research and I'm far from an expert.  The Bitcoin ATMs you can buy or sell bitcoin.  If you are buying, you insert the cash the cash into the ATM, and the ATM provides a QR code that you scan with your cell phone and it adds the bitcoin to your "vault". 

If you are selling, you create a QR code with you vault, scan it at the ATM and the ATM dispenses cash.

The ATM charges a fee to do these functions.  You are able to buy and sell online, but the advantages of physical ATM are 1) If you are buying, you can use cash to buy and you stay anonymous, which for bitcoin geeks seem to be important.  2) If you are selling, you are pretty much just doing one transaction and able to immediately turn the Bitcoin into cash.  If you sell online, you are selling the transaction and then withdrawing cash (pretty much 2 transactions).

As far as an opportunity I can see it two ways.....