AP6000 snack machine / change over of bill validator

I am new to the vending world and have a question/concern about my AP6000 snack machine. I got it pretty cheap. So I decided to see how it does. 
seems ok, but I keep getting dollar bills stuck in the bill validation system.  I didn’t want to start taking things apart before I understood how to repair it. This machine has a metal casing for the bill validator.  Can I change this out? Or upgrade it to a nicer one that will reduce the bills getting stuck in the machine?   If so….???  How do I go about it? 

IMG_4212.jpeg

It likely has a very old, Mars VFM model bill acceptor. You should toss that boat anchor and update to a VN series which was Mar’s next step forward in DBVs. Pay attention to the power requirements. Im almost certain you have a 115v VFM in there now which means you’d start looking for a VN2501 or 2511. Also, make sure the mask on the new dbv matches the vfm. There are bottler and snack masks which don’t always fit into every machine. 

• 2 weeks later...

Well, after further research and spending time really looking at my AP6600 model, I discovered that I have a Mars bill acceptor…

(Model   VFM3 L1 U4C)

this unit actually takes $1’s & $5’s

the problem is that it doesn’t take the new $5 bill post 2008 when they changed it.  So, I’m still in need of an upgrade that will take $1’s-$5’s&$10’s

After more research I think I found one that will work.  It is a :

Mars/MEI 120V pulse interface that is a recommended replacement for the 

VFM1-L1 /or/  VFM3-L1  bill validator.

with advice from Alan and others 

I do see another model available:

it’s the Mars/MEI  VN2501U5 120V

this validator will take $1’s & $5’s with the recognition of the 2008 post $5 bill.

How do i know what # mask my validator has?

IMG_4554.png

IMG_4553.png

when purchased new, the mask installed was part of the model #. 

Mar's Model # is broken down below.  This is also in their manual.